• Fran Stewart

When Someone Walks Away

I’ve had a lot of people ask me why I’m choosing to end my Biscuit McKee Mystery Series after the final "quadrilogy" is published later this year.

The question reminds me of this quotation about "their part in your story." There simply came a time when I knew without a doubt that it was time to let Biscuit and Marmalade go.

For I’ve told a story, over the course of these eleven books, that encompasses a whole town and a whole lot of lives and a number of issues. This is a story that only I could tell. It’s one I’m proud of. It’s one I hope people will read and re-read over the years to come, the way I periodically re-read every book Louise Penny wrote, simply because I love the way her characters evolve and interweave.

My characters are going to be around a long time, after all. Every book or ebook is a part of my ongoing legacy.

I’m getting close to the end of the writing process for these four final books, by the way. Just a few more loose ends to tie up.

So, if you want to read all the books in order, you might want to start now with ORANGE AS MARMALADE. That way, by the time RED AS A ROOSTER comes out, you’ll have the first seven books fresh in mind.

In case you’re wondering about the correct order of the books:

Orange as Marmalade

Yellow as Legal Pads

Green as a Garden Hose

Blue as Blue Jeans

Indigo as an Iris

Violet as an Amethyst

Gray as Ashes

Red as a Rooster

Black as Soot

Pink as a Peony, and

White as Ice.

#BiscuitMcKeeMysteries #LouisePenny